Social Media Icons DEQ Facebook DEQ Twitter DEQ Instagram DEQ LinkedIn

Eastern Virginia Groundwater Management Advisory Committee

The Eastern Virginia Groundwater Management Advisory Committee (EVGWMAC) has been established pursuant to legislation adopted in 2015 by the General Assembly. The legislation charges the Committee with assisting the State Water Commission and the Department of Environmental Quality in developing, revising, and implementing a management strategy for groundwater in the Eastern Virginia Groundwater Management Area. Committee members have been appointed representing industrial and municipal water users; representatives of public and private water providers; developers and representatives from the economic development community; representatives of agricultural, conservation, and environmental organizations; state and federal agencies' officials; and university faculty and citizens with expertise in water resources-related issues. The Committee will use a collaborative problem solving process to address the issues set out in the legislation and to identify long-term solutions for the Commonwealth as a whole.

The Committee has been tasked specifically with the responsibility to examine: (i) options for developing long-term alternative water sources, including water reclamation and reuse, groundwater recharge, desalination, and surface water options, including creation of storage reservoirs; (ii) the interaction between the Department of Environmental Quality's groundwater management programs and local and regional water supply plans within the Eastern Virginia Groundwater Management Area for purposes of determining water demand and possible solutions for meeting that demand; (iii) potential funding options both for study and for implementation of management options; (iv) alternative management structures, such as a water resource trading program, formation of a long-term groundwater management committee, and formation of a commission; (v) additional data needed to more fully assess aquifer health and sustainable groundwater management strategies; (vi) potential future groundwater permitting criteria; and (vii) other policies and procedures that may enhance the effectiveness of groundwater management in the Eastern Virginia Groundwater Management Area.

The legislation creating the Committee stipulates that the Committee report the results of its examination and related recommendations to the Director of DEQ and the State Water Commission no later than August 1, 2017. The Committee will meet at least four times each calendar year to complete their work within this time frame.

The meeting announcements and agendas of the Advisory Committee and its Subcommittee Workgroups can be found on the respective pages below: 

 Eastern Virginia Groundwater Management Advisory Committee Members
James Baker - City of Chesapeake David Paylor - DEQ
Shannon Becker - Aqua Virginia Chris Pomeroy - Western Tidewater Water Authority
Nina Butler - WestRock  Travis Quesenberry - King George County
Tom Frederick - VA Water & Wastewater Authorities Assoc. Paul Rogers - Farmer - Member of VA Cotton Board
George Harlow - USGS Nikki Rovner - The Nature Conservancy
Rhu Harris - Hanover County Kurt Stephenson - Virginia Tech
Bryan Hill - James City County Wanda Thornton - Eastern Shore Groundwater Committee
Chip Jones - Northern Neck Soil & Water Conservation District Mike Toalson - VA Home Builders Association
Marissa Levine - VDH Dennis Treacy - Smithfield Foods
Keith Martin - Chamber of Commerce Brett Vassey - Virginia Manufacturers Association
Sandi McNinch - VA Economic Development Partnership Ellis Walton - Farm Bureau
John O'Dell - VA Water Well Drillers Association Bob Wayland - Citizen


Full Member List including Subcommittee Workgroups

EVGMAC Final Report

footer divider
footer divider
footer divider
Virginia Department of
Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 1105
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 698-4000

Some resources on this website require Adobe Reader and Flash Player, Microsoft Word, PowerPoint or Excel. If you wish to receive this content in an accessible format pursuant to Section 508 of the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 U.S.C. ยง 794 (d)), please call 800-592-5482. In addition, this website includes hyperlinks to websites neither controlled nor sponsored by DEQ or the Commonwealth of Virginia. Links may open in a new window. If you wish to receive content from a website which is neither controlled nor sponsored by DEQ or the Commonwealth, please contact the host of that website directly.

Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use | WAI Compliance | Contact Us