2016 Virginia Coastal Zone Partners Workshop

The December 2016 Virginia Coastal Partners Workshop was an important part of the 2017-2019 Focal Area development process. During the course of the workshop, attendees heard presentations on critical or evolving coastal resource management issues, gave input to refine CZM’s Coastal Enhancement (Section 309) five-year grant strategies, and helped prioritize focal areas for the Virginia CZM Program’s 2017-2019 funding. Participants had an opportunity to brainstorm ideas to create Focal Area topics and then “vote” for one of those three Focal Area topics: 1. Preserving the Rural Landscape and Economy, 2. Resiliency, and 3. Resolving Near-Shore Use Conflicts and Coastal Economy. All three topics ranked similarly. The Coastal Policy Team will help decide how to address the next focal area at its January 18 meeting.

Workshop Sessions and Presentations

-browse the sessions and presentations provided below or use the following links to go directly to the session of interest:

Opening
Climate Change
Ocean Planning
Native Plants
Working Waterfronts
Federal Consistency
Economics of Land Conservation
Mapping & Conservation Priorities
Marine Debris
Energy Development
Focal Area


Session: Opening

Goals of the Workshop -- Laura McKay, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at laura.mckay@deq.virginia.gov


Session: Climate Change

Climate Change Predictions for Virginia -- Dan Salkovitz, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at daniel.salkovitz@deq.virginia.gov

How Climate Change May Affect Coastal Ecosystems -- David Johnson, Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at dsjohnson@vims.edu

Current Initiatives to Better Understand, Monitor and Predict Climate-Related Changes -- Donna Bilkovic and Molly Mitchell, Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at donnab@vims.edu or molly@vims.edu

The Eastern Shore Climate Resiliency Tool -- Curt Smith, Accomack-Northampton Planning District Commission and Gwynn Crichton, The Nature Conservancy
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at csmith@a-npdc.org or gcrichton@tnc.org

Ocean Acidification Issues: Developing a Monitoring Network for the Mid-Atlantic -- Elizabeth Shadwick, Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at shadwick@vims.edu


Session: Ocean Planning

Overview of Actions in the Mid-Atlantic Ocean Action Plan -- Laura McKay, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at
laura.mckay@deq.virginia.gov

The Mid-Atlantic Ocean Data Portal  -- Jay Odell, The Nature Conservancy and Mid-Atlantic Ocean Data Portal Team
Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at
jodell@tnc.org

Using Portal Data for a Virginia Marine Mammal Conservation Plan -- Becky Gwynn, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at
becky.gwynn@dgif.virginia.gov

Marine Commerce Trends, Traffic Patterns and Impacts of Larger Ships to Virginia Port -- Chris Scraba, Waterways Management Branch and Doug Simpson, 5th Coast Guard District
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at
chris.p.scraba@uscg.mil or douglas.c.simpson@uscg.mil


Session: Native Plants 

Partnership in Action -- Virginia Witmer, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at virginia.witmer@deq.virginia.gov

Plant NoVA Natives Campaign -- Corey Miles, Northern Virginia Regional Commission
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at cmiles@novaregion.org

A Provider's Perspective -- Brent Hunsinger, Brent's Native Plantings
Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at brentsnativeplantings@gmail.com

Chesapeake Bay Landscape Professional Certification -- Shereen Hughes, Wetlands Watch
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at shereen.hughes@wetlandswatch.org

VDOT Pollinator Habitat Program -- Diane Beyer and Louis Berger, Virginia Department of Transportation
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at diane.beyer@vdot.virginia.gov


Session: Working Waterfronts

Understanding the Value of Virginia’s Waterfronts:  Reaching out for Stakeholder Support -- Lewie Lawrence, Middle Peninsula Planning District Commission
Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at llawrence@mppdc.com

Virginia’s Working Waterfronts Plan:  Recommendations for Protection -- Neal Barber, Community Futures Consulting
Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at nealbarber1944@gmail.com

Panel discussion of the rise of competing uses and possible solutions:

  • Burke King, Ware River Resident 
         Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at burkeking@comcast.net
  • Chip Neikirk, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
         Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at chip.neikirk@mrc.virginia.gov
  • Larry Land, Virginia Association of Counties
         Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at lland@vaco.org
  • Kim Huskey, Ballard Fish and Oyster Company
         Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at kim@littleneck.com
  • Developing a Municipal Marina in Chestertown, MD -- Chris Cerino, Mayor of Chestertown, MD
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at chris.chestertown@verizon.net


    Session: Federal Consistency

    Case Studies to Illustrate Virginia’s Current Federal Consistency Review Process -- Bettina Sullivan, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at bettina.sullivan@deq.virginia.gov  

    Local Government’s Role in Federal Consistency Review -- Ben McFarlane, Hampton Roads Planning District Commission
    Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at bmcfarlane@hrpdcva.gov

    NOAA’s Perspective on Enforceable Policies & Boundaries for Determining Coastal Effects -- John Kuriawa, Office for Coastal Management, NOAA
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at john.kuriawa@noaa.gov

    Developing New Narrative Enforceable Policies for Virginia -- Elizabeth Andrews, Virginia Coastal Policy Center
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at eaandrews@wm.edu


    Session: Economics of Land Conservation

    Documenting the Socio-economic Impacts of Conserved Land on Virginia’s Eastern Shore -- Terry Clower, George Mason University and Dean Bellas, Urban Analytics
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at tclower@gmu.edu or dbellas@urbananalytics.com

    Economics of Forest Retention:  A Model for the Chesapeake Bay -- Rob Farrell, Virginia Department of Forestry
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at rob.farrell@dof.virginia.gov

    Promoting Land Conservation and Economic Development – Planning in the Chickahominy Watershed -- Sarah Stewart, Richmond Regional Planning District Commission
    Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at sstewart@richmondregional.org

    Panel:  Looking for answers on the Eastern Shore and a Vision for the Lower Chickahominy:

  • Elaine Meil, Accomack-Northampton Planning District Commission
         Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at emeil@a-npdc.org
  • Jill Bieri, The Nature Conservancy 
         Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at jbieri@tnc.org
  • Ellen Cook, James City County
         Presented without a PowerPoint - contact speaker for more information at ellen.cook@jamescitycountyva.gov

  • Session: Mapping Conservation Priorities

    Updating DCR's Virginia Natural Landscape Assessment (VANLA) -- Joe Weber, Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at joseph.weber@dcr.virginia.gov

    Priority Landscapes for Wildlife -- Chris Burkett, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at chris.burkett@dgif.virginia.gov

    Updating the Coastal Virginia Ecological Value Assessment -- Jennifer Ciminelli, VCU Rice Rivers Center/Virginia Commonwealth University
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at s2jmcimi@vcu.edu

    Protection Prioritization for Climate Change Adaptation on the Virginia Eastern Shore -- Chris Bruce, The Nature Conservancy
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at cbruce@tnc.org

    Identifying Ecologically Rich Areas in the Mid-Atlantic Ocean -- Laura McKay, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at laura.mckay@deq.virginia.gov


    Session: Marine Debris

    Update on Virginia's Plan and Results of the 2016 Summit -- Katie Register, Clean Virginia Waterways, Longwood University
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at registerkm@longwood.edu

    Social Marketing Approach to Reducing Balloon Releases -- Steve Raabe, OpinionWorks
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at steve@opinionworks.com

    Regional Efforts through the Mid-Atlantic Ocean Action Plan -- Kaity Goldsmith, Mid-Atlantic Regional Council on the Ocean
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at kgoldsmith@midatlanticocean.org  


    Session: Energy Development

    Oil, Gas and Wind Energy Development off Virginia's Coast -- Casey Reeves, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management and David Diamond, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
    Download PDF of Reeves' Presentation - contact speaker for more information at casey.reeves@boem.gov
    Download PDF of Diamond's Presentation - contact speaker for more information at david.diamond@boem.gov

    Fishing in and around Virginia’s Offshore Wind Energy Area -- Todd Janeski, Virginia Commonwealth University
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at tvjaneski@vcu.edu

    Solar Energy Development in Virginia’s Coastal Zone -- Mary Beth Major, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at mary.major@deq.virginia.gov


    Session: Focal Area

    Virginia CZM's Next Focal Area -- Laura McKay, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program
    Download PDF of Presentation - contact speaker for more information at laura.mckay@deq.virginia.gov

     

     

     


    footer divider
    footer divider
    footer divider
    Virginia Department of
    Environmental Quality
    P.O. Box 1105
    Richmond, VA 23218
    (804) 698-4000


    Some resources on this website require Adobe Reader and Flash Player, Microsoft Word, PowerPoint or Excel. If you wish to receive this content in an accessible format pursuant to Section 508 of the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 U.S.C. ยง 794 (d)), please call 800-592-5482. In addition, this website includes hyperlinks to websites neither controlled nor sponsored by DEQ or the Commonwealth of Virginia. Links may open in a new window. If you wish to receive content from a website which is neither controlled nor sponsored by DEQ or the Commonwealth, please contact the host of that website directly.

    Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use | WAI Compliance | Contact Us