2012 Virginia Coastal Zone Partners Workshop

Final Agenda (PDF)

2012 Virginia Coastal Partners Workshop - Summary of Prioritization Results (pdf)

Abstracts and Presentations - browse the sessions and presentations below or use the following links to go directly to the session of your interest:

Opening Plenary

Ocean Planning 

Wednesday, December 5, Lunch Presentation

Water Quality 

Fisheries

Coastal Hazards and Shifting Habitats  

Working Waterfronts  

Thursday, December 6, Lunch Presentations

Habitat Restoration

Public Access 


Session: Opening Plenary

Presentation:

NOAA Perspectives on Super Storm Sandy and Implications for Future Coastal Management --- Joelle Gore, Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management, NOAA 

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at
joelle.gore@noaa.gov 


 
Session: Ocean Planning

Presentations:

Collecting Ocean Data for Virginia and the Mid-Atlantic Ocean Data Portal --- Laura McKay, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program and Alfonso Lombana, The Nature Conservancy

Download PDF of Presentation1
Download PDF of Presentation 2 - contact speakers for more information at laura.mckay@deq.virginia.gov and alombana@tnc.org



Collecting New Virginia Atlantic Coasta Recreational Use Data
--- Nick Meade, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at
nick.meade@deq.virginia.gov


Collecting Virginia Offshore Marine Mammal and Sea Turtle Data
--- Mark Swingle, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at mswingle@virginiaaquarium.com


Wednesday, December 5, Lunch Presentation

The War of 1812 - A Coastal Engagement --- Peter Luebke, Virginia Department of Historic Resources

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at peter.luebke@dhr.virginia.gov


Session: Water Quality

TMDLs & Stormwater Regulations: Evaluating Impacts in Hampton Roads --- Ben McFarlane, Hampton Roads Planning District Commission and Jenny Tribo, Hampton Roads Planning District Commission

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at bmcfarlane@hrpdcva.gov and jtribo@hrpdcva.gov


TMDL Options: Redevelopment and BMPs on Private Property
--- Jenny Tribo, Hampton Roads Planning District Commission and Shereen Hughes, Wetlands Watch

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at jtribo@hrpdcva.gov and shereen.hughes@wetlandswatch.org


Hydraulic Fracturing for Natural Gas and Oil in Virginia's Coastal Zone
--- David Spears, Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at david.spears@dmme.virginia.gov 


Session: Fisheries

Connecting Land Use and Water Quality to Fishery Sustainability --- Peyton Robertson, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office, Fisheries Goal Implementation Team

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at peyton.robertson@noaa.gov


Advances in Oyster Science, Successes in Oyster Restoration and Stakeholder Engagement
--- Jim Wesson, Virginia Marine Resources Commission

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at jim.wesson@mrc.virginia.gov


Oyster Gardening: Creating a Constituency for Clean Water
--- David Turney, Tidewater Oyster Gardeners Association

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at dn.turney@yahoo.com


Session: Coastal Hazards and Shifting Habitats

VIMS Recurrent Flooding Study -- Marcia Berman, Virginia Institute of Marine Science

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at marcia@vims.edu


What if Hurricane Sandy Hit Virginia Directly?
--- Mark Slauter, Virginia Department of Emergency Management

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at mark.slauter@vdem.virginia.gov


CBNERRS Sentinel Site Monitoring
--- Willy Reay, Chesapeake Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve in Virginia

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at wreay@vims.edu


Impacts on Wildlife and Wildlife Restoration
--- Chris Burkett, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at chris.burkett@dgif.virginia.gov


Living Shorelines: Implementing Senate Bill 964
-- Chip Neikirk, Virginia Marine Resources Commission; Marcia Berman, Virginia Institute of Marine Science; and Lewie Lawrence, Middle Peninsula Planning District Commission

Download PDF of Presentation 1;
Download PDF of Presentation 2 - contact speakers for more information at chip.neikirk@mrc.virginia.gov, marcia@vims.edu, and llawrence@mppdc.com    


Session: Working Waterfronts

Observations of a Waterman and Lower Chesapeake Bay Business Owner --- Tommy Leggett, Chessie Seafood and Aquafarms

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at chessie_shellfish@hotmail.com


Developing a State Plan for Working Waterfront Protection
--- Tom Murray, VIMS Marine Advisory Services

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at tjm@vims.edu 


Thursday, December 6, Lunch Presentations

Reclaiming Our Food - The Multiple Benefits of Locavorism --- Tanya Denckla Cobb, author

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at td6n@virginia.edu


Reclaiming the Virginia Oyster - A Local Success Story
--- Anthony Marchetti, Rappahannock River Oyster Company and Rappahannock restaurant

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at anthony@rroysters.com 


Session: Habitat Restoration

Oyster Restoration and Results of a New Rotational Harvest Plan in the Rappahannock River --- Jim Wesson, Virginia Marine Resources Commission

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at jim.wesson@mrc.virginia.gov


Oyster Restoration and Public Engagement on the Seaside of Virginia's Eastern Shore
--- Barry Truitt, The Nature Conservancy

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at btruitt@tnc.org


Eelgrass and Scallop Restoration on the Seaside of Virginia's Eastern Shore
--- Robert Orth, Virginia Institute of Marine Science

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at jjorth@vims.edu


Engaging Partners and the Public to Increase the Use of Native Plants
--- Virginia Witmer, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program and Dot Field, Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speakers for more information at virginia.witmer@deq.virginia.gov and dot.field@dcr.virginia.gov


Session: Public Access

Virginia Outdoors Plan --- Janit Llewellyn-Allen, Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at janit.llewellyn@dcr.virginia.gov


Virginia CZM Projects
--- Beth Polak, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program

Download PDF of Presentation- contact speaker for more information at beth.polak@deq.virginia.gov


Local Public Access Perspectives: Projects Underway
--- Sarah Stewart, Richmond Regional Planning District Commission; Curt Smith, Accomack-Northampton Planning District Commission; Ben McFarlane, Hampton Roads Planning District Commission

Download PDF of Presentation 1;
Download PDF of Presentation 2- contact speakers for more information at sstewart@richmondregional.org, csmith@a-npdc.org, bmcfarlane@hrpdcva.gov

 

footer divider
footer divider
footer divider
Virginia Department of
Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 1105
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 698-4000


Some resources on this website require Adobe Reader and Flash Player, Microsoft Word, PowerPoint or Excel. If you wish to receive this content in an accessible format pursuant to Section 508 of the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 U.S.C. ยง 794 (d)), please call 800-592-5482. In addition, this website includes hyperlinks to websites neither controlled nor sponsored by DEQ or the Commonwealth of Virginia. Links may open in a new window. If you wish to receive content from a website which is neither controlled nor sponsored by DEQ or the Commonwealth, please contact the host of that website directly.

Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use | WAI Compliance | Contact Us