Erosion and Sediment Control Training

Course Enrollment Procedures

Enroll in DEQ courses through the Virginia Learning Center (VLC).

If you require a pdf version of any of these how-to videos, please contact certification@deq.virginia.gov.

VDOT state employees should first visit the VDOT Training Page.


Training Notification

Subscribe to training notifications to receive an email when new classes are available. 


Courses

Program Administrator for Erosion and Sediment Control

This 1-day course is for individuals overseeing the implementation of a VESCP for a VESCP authority or entity with standards and specifications. 

Topics:

  • Virginia erosion and sediment control law and regulations
  • Requirements for administering a VESCP
  • Fundamentals of erosion and stormwater runoff

Cost = $80. Do NOT send payment until you have determined availability for a class and requested access to the course in through the Virginia Learning Center (VLC). A copy of the participant guide will be provided at the training class. 

Course dates (8:30 am - 4:30 pm)


Inspector for Erosion and Sediment Control

This 2-day course is for individuals conducting regulatory inspections for a VESCP authority or entity with standards and specifications. If you are only responsible for conducting SWPPP inspections for the operator/permit holder, please visit the SWPPP Inspection Training page. 

Topics:

  • Virginia erosion and sediment control law and regulations
  • Fundamentals of erosion and stormwater runoff
  • Erosion and sediment control measures

Cost = $160. Do NOT send payment until you have determined availability for a class and requested access to the course in through the Virginia Learning Center (VLC)

Please download (*only chapters 3 and 6 are needed for class) or purchase a copy of the ESC Handbook and bring it to class.  An ESC field guide will be provided to you in class along with a copy of the participant guide.

Course dates (8:30 am - 4:30 pm)  


Plan Reviewer for Erosion and Sediment Control

This 3-day course is for individuals reviewing ESC plans submitted for approval to a VESCP authority or entity with standards and specifications. 

Topics: 

  • Virginia erosion and sediment control law and regulations
  • Fundamentals of erosion and stormwater runoff
  • ESC plan elements and the plan review process
  • Erosion and sediment control measures
  • Basics of plan review for stormwater quantity compliance

Persons enrolled in this course should possess an understanding of the principles of: hydrology, erosion and sediment control; the Virginia erosion and sediment control law and regulations, and the specifications in the ESC Handbook.   

Cost = $260.  Do NOT send payment until you have determined availability for a class and requested access to the course in through the Virginia Learning Center (VLC)

Please download (*chapters 3 and 6 are the only or purchase a copy of the ESC Handbook and bring it to class. A copy of the participant guide will be provided in class.

Professional Engineers are also encouraged to visit the PE FAQ.

Course dates (8:30 am - 4:30 pm)


Refunds and Cancellations

Individuals can receive a registration refund by notifying DEQ before the refund request deadline shown below. See DEQ's Course Refund Policy for more information. 

Day Course Begins Refund Request Deadline 
Monday By midnight Thursday
Tuesday By midnight Sunday
Wednesday By midnight Monday
Thursday By midnight Tuesday
Friday By midnight Wednesday

Any request for refunds should be emailed to: certification@deq.virginia.gov.                                            


Equivalent Certifications 

There is no reciprocity for certificates issued by a private entity or another state. Only training programs administered by the Department and subsequent certification issued by the Board (in accordance with 9VAC25-850-40) meet the regulatory requirements.


Provisional Certification

Individuals seeking SWM or ESC certification will be considered provisionally certified for two years from the date they complete their first required training course. Individuals can only be provisionally certified once per ESC and once per SWM.

If an individual does not obtain actual certification within the two year window, they will not be considered certified (provisionally or otherwise) until they pass the respective exam.  Individuals may still take an exam after their provisional certification has run out by:

  • Completing the work experience form which documents 800 hours of experience (if applicable) and presenting the work experience form to Pearson Vue when you show up to take the exam; or
  • Retaking courses related to the certification which is being sought and presenting the course completion certificates to Pearson Vue. (Note: retaking the courses does not provide any additional time for provisional certification)

Please see Guidance Memo: 14-2010 and Candidate Information Booklet for more details.

footer divider
footer divider
footer divider
Virginia Department of
Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 1105
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 698-4000


Some resources on this website require Adobe Reader and Flash Player, Microsoft Word, PowerPoint or Excel. If you wish to receive this content in an accessible format pursuant to Section 508 of the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 U.S.C. ยง 794 (d)), please call 800-592-5482. In addition, this website includes hyperlinks to websites neither controlled nor sponsored by DEQ or the Commonwealth of Virginia. Links may open in a new window. If you wish to receive content from a website which is neither controlled nor sponsored by DEQ or the Commonwealth, please contact the host of that website directly.

Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use | WAI Compliance | Contact Us